Top white facebook2x Top white twitter2x Top white instagram2x Top white phone2x 0131 552 8560 Top white email2x Email us Top white webcam2x Webcam Top white search2x Basket Login Join
Home / News / The swinging Edinburgh Regatta 2022!
Home / News / The swinging Edinburgh Regatta 2022!

The swinging Edinburgh Regatta 2022!

1054597 orig
Published 12:19 on 30 Jun 2022

The Edinburgh Regatta took place on 25/26 June at Granton, Edinburgh, jointly hosted by Royal Forth YC and Forth Corinthians YC. It was last held in 2019 like so many other events.

Firstly, the RFYC would like to thank our Vice Commodore, Sarah Robertson for organising and managing this event. It was a weekend not without challenges. Also, we thank our House team for laying on delicious sustenance on shore for members and visitors alike.

Traditionally all keelboats are invited to this regatta on the Forth for both windward/leeward racing for Fast & Slow yachts and Sports/Day boats as well as passage races for Cruisers.

Entries were difficult to predict so the organising committee were delighted to receive 26 entries from the host clubs as well as Port Edgar and Burntisland. Port Edgar SC organised a feeder race on Saturday morning which delivered their boats to Granton just in time for the first start. Unfortunately Covid and other unfortunate events had started to impact the fleet even before the start and Saturday racing started with 22 boats spread across 5 classes - six 707s and handicap complications warranted a separate result for this class.

A brisk SW wind resulted in some exciting racing for all classes. The cruisers started first on a 10-mile race followed 15 minutes later by the other classes. The 2 windward/leeward races were exciting to watch with some close racing in the 707s and some spectacular broaches as the wind picked up. At the end of the 2 races James McDougall and team in Beneteau First 30E "Shoki" was 1st in the Fast class, Justin Venton in "Jetstream" led the 707s, John Lane in H-Boat "Humdinger" was leading the Sports/Day boats and Brian Pennycook in Maxi 84 "Misty Blue" had led the Cruiser fleet home. Racing was followed by a barbeque and drinks on the RFYC terrace - great to see visitors after the long wait.

Sunday's racing was in a very unusual SE wind which was gusting between 12 and 28 knots and swinging constantly by 30 degrees. The fleet was further reduced due to more Covid and the forecast. Nevertheless the ROs managed to set the cruisers off on an exciting 12-mile tour and the other fleets managed another 2 races before the ROs and a number of boats decided to call it a day. Ian Hard's Div1 "Hardslog" dominated the Fast class on day 2, Ronnie Millar in "Cacciatore" had a better day in the 707 (albeit with some "interesting" spinnaker work) and Tim McBride's team in Hawk 20 "Bonnie" gave a great lone performance to win the Slow fleet. The Sports/Day boat turnout had reduced to zero.

Ian Rogers and crew in their Achilles 24 "Amare" were presented with the Britannia Trophy for the performance that most impressed the Race Officers due to their resilience in the wind and waves plus 2nd place overall in the Cruiser fleet. They were allowed to hold this historic trophy for photographs before it was returned to it's home on the RFYC wall.

Congratulations to the winners but also to everyone who took part!

You can check the individual results on our dedicated Edinburgh Regatta page here.

Sarah's article was published in Yachts and Yachting online here.

Overall Results:

PosBoatClassSail NoOwnerClubRatingR1R2R3R4Pts
707 Division
1stCacciatore7077115Stewart RobertsonRFYC92731214
2ndJet Stream7077102Justin Venton & Bill HmiltonPEYC92712325
3rdRacing Demon7077084Adam WallacePEYC927231(DNS)6
4thEastlander7077041Pawel ByszyimskiPEYC927(RET)44311
5thIsbean7077068Richard GibsonPEYC92745(DNC)DNC15
Cruiser Class Division
1stMisty BlueMaxi 84822CBrian Pennycook & Eddie NorthFCYC103011 2
2ndAmareAchilles 24561Ian RogersRFYC115022 4
3rdTimaniaElizabethan 302855Richard MasperoRFYC106044 8
4thApparitionSloop930CGeorge MackayFCYC1025DNF3 13
5thIndulgenceBeneteau First 308641Peter DouglasFCYC10693RET 13
6thKentraSadler 29169Paul CoppBurntisland SC10725DNC 15
7thKashangi IIWesterley GriffinGN188John AndersonFCYC1228DNFDNC 20
7thPole StarHunter Horizon 2365Rob GarnerFCYC1242DNFRET 20
7thSeahorseWesterley CentaurCR1017Dougal BurnettFCYC1207RETDNS 20
Fast Yachts Division
1stHardslogDIV17349Ian HardsPEYC85912113
2ndShokiBeneteau First 30E03CJames McDougallPEYC92321225
3rdSaraSigma 33 Cruiser06LThomas LouthFCYC9593(DNS)RETDNS13
4thSmij of AntrimHustler SJ30K6666Nicolas JankeFCYC959(DNC)RETDNSDNS15
Slow Yachts Division
1stBonnieHawk 20/Class 3260Tim McBrideRFYC111511113
2ndCloud 9 C9Jude BeimersBSC105022(DNC)DNC7
Sports/Day Boats Division
1stHumdingerHBOATDEN518John LAneRFYC99621(DNC)DNC8
2ndWizz TooDRAGONGBR343Henry BoydRFYC9851(DNF)DNCDNC11
3rdKismetDRAGONGBR508Cathy Ogden Sheena KerrRFYC984(DNC)DNCDNCDNC15

1054675 1224x


Last updated 14:22 on 17 May 2023

Top white facebook2x Top white twitter2x Top white instagram2x
© 2023 Royal Forth Yacht Club powered by Sailing Club Manager